Everyday error occurs every day

It’s a common, ordinary error; in fact, you might call it an everyday error:

everyday food hp

Yahoo! Food confuses everyday with its two-word homophone.

4 Responses to “Everyday error occurs every day”

  1. Carlos Says:

    One of my all-time biggest peeves!

  2. Laura Says:

    Mine, too! I don’t understand the confusion, but I see “everyday” used incorrectly more and more, including in national TV ads.

  3. Carlos Says:

    It’s maddening! Here are a couple of my other biggest peeves:

    Using “impact” instead of affect. I’m quite positive someone started using it because they didn’t know when to use “affect” and when to use “effect.” That’s my theory anyway.

    Using reflexives improperly. My theory on this is that someone stared using them because they didn’t know when to use “him” or “he,” “her” or “she,” “I” or “me,” etc.

    Sheesh. Is it really that hard? :-) I don’t comment much here, but you can be sure I visit you daily :-) Crap! I just realized I saw a flub on Yahoo earlier today that I forgot to send you. It was on one of their headlines. Oh well…maybe next time. :-) Have a great weekend!

  4. Laura Says:

    Carlos, enjoy your weekend, too. And thanks for showing up on TW.


What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 806 other followers

