It’s a triple play of homophonic horrors

Some writers deserve recognition for their great writing. Piper Weiss, the senior features editor for Yahoo! Shine, is not one of them. She has earned, however, the distinction of being one of the few professional writers (maybe the only professional writer) to make three homophonic errors in a single article. Without further ado (or “adieu,” as she would write), they are:

Bares for bears. Unless the brainiac writer meant “uncovers.” But that would make no sense.

Hoards for hordes. This is a stretch since, really, neither word is correct, though hordes is closer to her implied meaning. A hoard is a supply of something stored up and often hidden. A horde refers to people in a mob or crowd. So, either one pretty much sucks in this context, but I’m calling it a homophonic error:

Sight for site. Just because she writes for a site, we can’t assume she can spell the word. Good thing she doesn’t work for a rotogravure.

8 Responses to “It’s a triple play of homophonic horrors”

  1. Danielle Says:

    Wow, I wonder how much those writers at Yahoo! get paid for making so grammatical errors! In all seriousness, I feel really embarrassed for people who call themselves writers (professional writers), and cannot write correctly. It disgusts me a little because I’m an English major and have always been very careful about proofreading my work to avoid mistakes. I should be a writer for Yahoo!; I think I may have written better than these professionals as a sixth grader! Either the authors at Yahoo! don’t care about grammar, or maybe they just don’t know they’ve made a mistake. The sad thing is that these kinds of errors occur all the time from work to school on a daily basis. It seems that people don’t give any thought to learning and using their language correctly. Society has become far too complacent these days and I blame laziness. People are more concerned with getting their jobs done as quickly as possible than doing their work correctly to avoid errors. I feel sorry for the upcoming generation.

  2. Danielle Says:

    *so many* Forgot to add that! Now, I feel a little bit silly! : )

    • Laura Says:

      Don’t worry. I never judge a writer by his or her comments. I’ve made more than my share of mistakes in comments to others’ blog posts.

  3. Molly Says:

    Reading Piper’s articles are like my version of watching horrible reality television, they are such train wrecks but I can’t look away. I look at every article and then read the comments that rip her article to bits with a great sense of schadenfreude, yet I’m left feeling rather ill that someone who is practically illiterate manages to get consistent work as a writer. She can barely piece (or should I say, bearly peace) a coherent sentence together.

    • Laura Says:

      When I read her writing, I don’t know if I want to laugh or cry. She can make some of the most outrageous mistakes — mistakes I’ve never seen another writer (professional or not) make). I think my favorite of hers has to be the one where she made more than 50 errors! I don’t know why they let her publish her pieces before they’re edited. Scary thought: Maybe they have been edited.

  4. mike k Says:

    I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. This is actually quite horrifying.

    • Laura Says:

      For this Shine writer, it’s relatively few errors. She’s been known to produce more than 50 mistakes in a single aritcle. Maybe Yahoo! has finally found someone to edit her writing. I’m not suggesting a competent editor; just an editor. :)


What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 721 other followers

