The mystery of the yacht

I was intrigued by the thought of a $2.5 million yacht sinking on its maiden voyage. What could be worse than that? A $25 million yacht sinking on its maiden voyage. One of those things actually happened, but I’d have to read the whole article on Yahoo! News to see which it was:

OK, so it was a $2.5 mil vessel. One mystery solved, and another lifts its enigmatic head: What the heck was the “vessel’s inglorious” that found its way to Gizmodo? I’d have to click that blue link to hop over to Gizmodo to find out. Unfortunately, that only looks like a link; it doesn’t go anywhere:

Another puzzlement: What the heck does this mean?

To me, it means the writer didn’t proofread. The proofreader didn’t proofread. The editor didn’t proofread. Mystery solved.

2 Responses to “The mystery of the yacht”

  1. Michelle Says:

    How funny, Laura, that you will have to “real the whole article” to find out. I love the irony! Good job proofreading the article about the yacht, though.

    • Laura Says:

      Thanks for pointing out my typo, which I’ve corrected. Unlike the staffers at Yahoo!, I don’t have access to human editors and must rely on my spell-checker (which wouldn’t have caught that error) and my readers to catch blunders like that. Thanks for your help!


What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 781 other followers

