Giving readers a splitting headache

I almost spit out my nonfat, sugar-free vanilla latte when I read this on yahoo.com:

fp splitting image

Instead, I laughed so hard that I now have a splitting headache. Will someone please inform the children who write for Yahoo! that the expression is “spitting image” while I go get an Advil. Or two.

2 Responses to “Giving readers a splitting headache”

  1. ZZMike Says:

    American idioms are really hard for foreign speakers to learn. (As are theirs fro us.)

    PS: Why “spitting”? That doesn’t sound nice.

    I threw caution to the winds and looked it up. “Spit and image”, as in really shiny shoes (former military people will relate to that).


What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 715 other followers

