This makes me feel old

Maybe it’s because I remember my first Walkman. Maybe it’s because I come from a generation that values the ability to communicate effectively and accurately in writing. Whatever the reason, reading this on Yahoo! Shine just made be feel old:

walkmans shine

I suspect that the writer is from a different, younger generation from mine. That may explain why she doesn’t know that Walkman is a trademark and not a generic term. It might explain the random comma, because rules of punctuation seem to elude the young’ums. But I’d expect her to know how to spell Gangnam and for her to be able to identify the first names of Benny and Rafi Fine. Or is that asking too much?

3 Responses to “This makes me feel old”

  1. lectorconstans Says:

    Good catch! ! ! I have no idea who or what those new-fangled things/people are. I remember the Walkmen (more than one…..), but I thought Benny and Fine were Jack Benny and Larry Fine (the smart one of the Three Stooges).


What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 721 other followers

