No clue, no clue at all

Every once in a while, I read something on Yahoo! that I cannot decipher. I cannot parse the sentence. I cannot glean a scintilla of information. I cannot guess at what the writer was trying to say. And here is today’s WTF writing from Yahoo! News:

neither news

Anyone have a clue as to what this should be? Anyone?

2 Responses to “No clue, no clue at all”

  1. lectorconstans Says:

    Someone told them a long time ago that if there’s a “neither”, there had better be a “nor”.

    For some odd reason, the rule doesn’t apply to objects (or is that “in prepositional phrases?”)

    No wonder English is so hard to learn.

    I can see why “Neither the Journal News nor WCBS…” is OK, and I can see that the above isn’t, but I couldn’t say why.


What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 753 other followers

