Mistake so basic leaves me astounded

Making pizza dough requires water, salt, yeast, and flower. Flower? Yup, that’s what it says on Yahoo! News:

flower news

I’m thinkin’ maybe dahlias would work in the dough. And thank goodness there’s no flour, because lots of folks are gluten-intolerant these days. Since the topping includes “basic leaves,” then maybe the branch of an oak or maple would have enough leaves. So how come the topping doesn’t include basil?

4 Responses to “Mistake so basic leaves me astounded”

  1. ericjbaker Says:

    I’m not exactly known for my culinary skills, despite my name, but I’m pretty sure pizza tastes best without flower pedals in the dough.

    Leaves are generally thought to have evolved during the late Devonian Period (about 380 millions years ago). Those would be your most basic leaves. Is that what they meant? I don’t think Shop Rite stocks them.

    • Laura Says:

      I understand that violet blossoms are delicious, though I doubt that I’ve ever tried them — certainly never had them in or on a pizza.

      Basic leaves may depend on location. Around here, live oak is pretty basic, though I don’t think I’d want that on my pizza.

  2. lectorconstans Says:

    There are times when reading Yahoo! can cause your IQ to drop several points. “C” and “L” are on opposite sides of the keyboard.

    I would advise extreme caution in your future endeavours. Folklore has it that listening to Mozart may reverse the process.

    (I’ve heard that – I have to assume they mean his music.)

    • Laura Says:

      No worries. I’ve been doing this for years and I feel that I’ve only regressed by a few dozen IQ points. But I will try listening to classical music in an attempt to halt any further mental decline.


What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 759 other followers

