Blogger writes DIY post

From the “I Already Knew That” department of redundancy comes this headline on Yahoo! News:

slide 1

It’s pretty safe to say that if someone created a slide it was a DIY (do-it-yourself) slide. But, thanks for the info.

I’d like to say that the article is a bit of an improvement over the headline, but I can’t. I’m familiar with the idiom “to the tune of,” but have never seen or heard it used to describe an approximate length. But what do I know? I’ll tell you what I know: I know that a luge is a sled or the sport involving a sled. It is not a water slide as this writer alleges:

slide 2

I also know the builder of the water slide tried to keep his costs low. And he did it by using wooden pallets:

slide 3

He did not use palettes. This is a palette:

palette

What he used were pallets, which look something like this:

pallet

2 Responses to “Blogger writes DIY post”

  1. lectorconstans Says:

    Maybe the writer meant “to the tune of Yankee Doodle”.

    “aforementioned cardboard”? The writer must just have graduated law school (oops – now they’ve got me doing it).

    “Cost” vs “costs”. There’s the overall cost, made up of individual costs.

    • Laura Says:

      I don’t know why the writer felt he had to mention the “aforementioned.” Perhaps he is a law school grad, as you suggest.


What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 720 other followers

