And now for something completely different

I’m departing from my regular practice of blogging about the grammatical gaffes, miserable misspellings, and factual foul-ups by the writers and editors who work for Yahoo! to feature this impressive article on Yahoo! Shine, written by someone who is not a Yahoo! staffer, but whose musings were chosen to be featured by a Yahoo! editor.

I couldn’t bring myself to include the whole article, but you can see it all by clicking the image above. Enjoy! You’re welcome.

You can read more by this author on Yahoo! Shine.

Who you calling a ‘pritt’?

Who’s the Pritt on Yahoo! Shine?

“I know! I know! It’s really Brad Pitt, but I got so excited about the engagement that I couldn’t control myself or my fingers!”

That’s just what I was expecting

Model poses. That’s just what I’d be expecting from a model. I don’t know what makes it news-worthy, but here it is, on the Yahoo! front page:

What were you expecting? A pregnant model poses? An expectant model poses? Those would actually be accurate — and a lot less misleading.

Readers denounce yahoo.com’s failed wording

OK, so that’s a little harsh. But this little extra word on the Yahoo! front page shows the impact two letters can have on the meaning of a sentence:

I had to pounce

I just had to pounce when I saw this little paragraph on Yahoo! Movies:

I absolutely hate the arbitrary Use of Capital Letters. Hate it. I can overlook the missing space after the comma,but hate the misplaced apostrophe. (The apostrophe and hyphen are rarely used correctly on Yahoo!. Both characters’ appearance on any Yahoo! site is likely to be wrong. )

Those gaffes were not the worst I’ve read, and they’re not what set me off this time. What made me pounce was the “young men upon which they prey.” Why, why, why did the writer chose that pretentious expression and the word which? Why didn’t the writer just say  “young men they prey on” or “young men that they prey on”?

Ridiculously inconsistent

This guy is supposedly ridiculously photogenic. I guess that’s why the editors for the Yahoo! front page call him “Ridiculously Photogenic Guy.” Except when they call him “Ridiculously photogenic guy.”

Next time Yahoo! staffers want to use an expression more than once on yahoo.com, they might consider consulting their company style manual. Or maybe they could start by creating a company style guide. That would be a first step.

