Life in the Royal Statute Factory

Although this writer for Yahoo! Style claims “we’ve all read the history books,” I don’t think she learned a lot:

ordinance sty

I’m not referring to her inability to pound out the word battlefield. Or her insistence on using a hyphen after an adverb ending in -LY. I’m referring to her mention of the Royal Ordinance Factory, which would be a place where statutes, regulations, or orders are manufactured.

It’s too bad there’s no ordinance prohibiting the incorrect use of words in a public place. This gal would be arrested and sent up the river because anyone who “read the history books” knows that military material, including weapons and ammunition, is ordnance.

2 Responses to “Life in the Royal Statute Factory”

  1. Susan Says:

    I love the image of a “munitions factory in yellow jumpsuits” also.

    • Laura Says:

      I missed that one! I was so focused on the “ordinance” that I didn’t see that. I was just astounded that the writer chose to “correct” the photo description — which was correct. The ignorance of these writers is shocking to me.


What do you think?

