It’s not nice to fool your readers

I should have known that when a writer for Yahoo! Makers can’t figure out what verb to use in a simple sentence, that the rest of the article would not go well:

is for are diy

Undeterred by that obvious grammatical gaffe, I read on. I was curious to see what I could make with a cone, fake snow, and hot glue. And then I saw the actual list of materials and equipment I’d need:

list mak

Well, don’t I feel foolish. Here’s an obvious case of bait and switch. Lure me in with a promise of making a Christmas tree using three objects, and then spring this on me. I’m not even going to mention the misspelled iridescent and snowflakes and the missing slash in and/or. OK, so maybe I will mention them.

What do you think?

