Between you and me, this sucks

Just between you and me, when I read something like this I have to wonder if English is the writer’s first language:

between he spo mlb bls

And then I wonder what the heck the editor was doing before this was published on Yahoo! Sports. And then I wonder if Yahoo! even has editors. And then I wonder why I’m surprised by grammatical mistakes on Yahoo!.

For those of you who don’t mind my getting a little grammar-nerdy, here’s the issue: The writer chose the wrong pronoun. The pronoun is the object of the preposition between and therefore should be in the objective case. (Get it? Object of preposition; objective case.) The objective cases are me, you, him, her, it, us, them (plus whom and whomever).

What do you think?

