Speaking out

I must speak out about the writing by Yahoo! Answers staff: It sucks.

mylan-ans

Judging by the incorrect word usage, I’d guess that the writer is not a native English speaker. Why do I think that? The CEO of Mylan testified before Congress. Neither the CEO nor Mylan can be accused of “speaking out,” which means to talk freely and fearlessly. Quite the contrary. The expression “in the recent years” isn’t familiar to me, but “in recent years” is. And people aren’t affected about an issue, but affected by one.

This writer just isn’t familiar enough with English to be let loose on the public without the support of a competent editor.

2 Responses to “Speaking out”

  1. Yahoo Says:

    This writer just isn’t familiar enough with English to be let LOSE on the public without the support of a competent editor.

    You know what they say about those who live in glass houses …

    • Laura Says:

      Thanks for pointing out my mistake. I’ll correct it. Unlike writers at Yahoo, I don’t have access to proofreaders and/or editors or even colleagues who can check my writing before it’s posted. In more than 10,000 posts, I expect the occasional typo to slip in. I think my record is somewhat better than that of Yahoo’s writers, some of whom have made more than 50 errors in a single article. At least I use a spell-checker, which is more than Yahoo staffers can say. And say “hello” to your colleagues at Yahoo for me!


What do you think?

