Extreme makeover: Yahoo edition

This calls for a makeover. No one went to extremes in proofreading this headline on the Yahoo! front page:

fp extemes

It’ll leave you in stitches

Sewing seeds involves needle and thread. Sowing seeds (even figuratively) involves scattering them around so that they’ll grow. Screwing up the words involves a writer on Yahoo! Sports:

sewn sports

Something I’ve never seen before. Almost

Here’s an unusual mistake on the Yahoo! front page:

fp of her

It’s unusual because everyone I know would use the reflexive pronoun herself in that sentence: She took a photo of herself. Most people have no idea why the reflexive is correct; they just know when to use it.

The reflexive pronouns all end in self or selves: myself, yourself, herself, ourselves and so on. You use it when someone does something to himself or herself (see what I did there?).

The only other time I’ve seen a non-reflexive pronoun used instead of the correct reflexive pronoun has been on … Wait for it… The Yahoo! front page:

fp her for herself

I wonder if the same person wrote both those sentences. And I wonder if that person’s native language is English. I’m guessin’ it isn’t.

File this under ‘Very Odd News’

Yahoo! News’ “Odd News” is indeed odd. Extremely odd. Here’s a story about speed dating, but it looks like Steven Spielberg is going around with a triceratops:

pic spielberg

Maybe that’s just a gal wearing a dinosaur-shaped bag on her head. That’s impressive!