Guess what’s wrong here

Can you guess what’s wrong with this caption on Yahoo! TV?

guess quest tv

That’s right! It’s not a question! It’s an imperative sentence! I guess the writer thought the question was: “Who’s coming to dinner?”

Dem’s the breaks

Could someone please put the brakes on the Yahoo! Shine writer responsible for this?

put the breaks on shine

They aren’t the same

I know someone who can’t tell the difference between woman and women; she pronounces both words exactly the same. I didn’t know she wrote for Yahoo! Shine:

women shine 1

A descent into hell

For lovers of English, a mistake like this on the Yahoo! front page is like a descent into a language abyss:

fp decent

Imagine the conversation

When I read this on Yahoo! Shine, I expected an article about  babies who were born “amid bomb threats”:

babies shine hp

Silly me. It was only one baby, who was actually born in a hospital parking lot. So, how did one baby turn into “babies”? I imagine a conversation going like this:

Editor: Hey, what are you writing about?

Writer: Baby’s born amid bomb threats.

Editor: Got it. Your story’s on the home page.