I’m a writer, not a mathematician!

There are lots of examples of the failure of Yahoo! writers to do basic arithmetic. Now we have proof that not only can they not add or subtract numbers, but they also can’t tell which of two numbers is greater: 229 or 127. Here’s the sad evidence on Yahoo! Shine:

lose shine

How many people were infected?

Geez, I can’t imagine how many people suffered from this staff infection, but it must have been a lot because it’s mentioned on Yahoo! Sports:

staff sports

The only thing worse would be a staff with a staph infection.

And then I stopped reading. Again

When a writer can’t be bothered to spell-check an article and makes this many mistakes in the first paragraph, I stop reading. Not surprisingly, the article was on Yahoo! Shine:

sequal shine

The director is Chris McKay and the misspelled words are sequel and addressed.

And then I stopped reading

It wasn’t a typo, a misspelling, or a grammar gaffe that stopped me from reading this article on Yahoo! News — it was the fact that the writer didn’t know if he was writing about an interview in Fortune magazine or Forbes magazine:

fortune forbes news

If the writer gets a basic fact like that wrong, what else has he screwed up? I don’t know because I stopped reading when I read this. If I really want the facts, I’ll read the original interview in Fortune. Or Forbes.