What gives?

Yahoo!’s corporate blog, Yodel Anecdotal, offers up two puzzlers in a recent post:

Figuring out that sing was a typo for song was fairly easy. But what gives with “high gives”? A high-five goes out to anyone who can decipher that expression.

Almost Gregory Reese’s rap

Yahoo! Video gets some of its videos from Yahoo! News. But I’m not sure where it gets the accompanying descriptions: 

Everyday errors may presage change every day

Every day there are so many grammatical, spelling, punctuation, and other errors floating around the Web that I wonder if I’m completely behind the times. The language is always evolving, and maybe that’s what accounts for these errors from Yahoo! Shine:

Am I so tragically out of touch with the digital age that I missed the introduction of “sound byte” into our everyday lexicon to mean “a brief statement”?

I readily admit to complete ignorance when it comes to the meaning of “heavily-based,” though I suspect the hyphen joining this alleged compound is wrong, just as it’s wrong to use a hyphen following an adverb ending in LY.

Get going

Yahoo! Shine asks:

At first I thought there was an extraneous word in the question and it should be: Is all the attention getting to her? Unfortunately, I had to read the entire post to understand what the writer was getting to.

 

The question should be: Is all the attention going to her head? Maybe a better question is: Does anyone at Yahoo! read these things before making them public?

Peanut butter to chocolate: Your cacao looks fab

Yahoo! TV’s collection of “Second Banana” photos includes captions to complement the pictures, like this one:

Let me offer some complimentary advice: If you’re talking about two things that go well together, then they complement each other. Like peanut butter and chocolate. Peas and carrots. And Stacy and Clinton. Except when Clinton tells Stacy he loves her Jimmy Choos.