One of the most common goofs

It’s one of the most common mistakes you’ll find on the Yahoo! front page. Can you spot it?

Soldiering on in spite of errors

The headline writers for the Yahoo! front page just keep soldiering on, in spite of typos and missing words:

What do you mean by that?

The writer for Yahoo! News‘ “The Ticket” leaves readers confused with a capital error:

If you mean the building where the U.S. Congress meets, then it’s the Capitol. If you mean Washington, DC, then it’s the nation’s capital.

And then I stopped reading

Sometimes an article is so badly written that I don’t read past the first sentence or two. Such is the case with a post on Yahoo! Shine. After the second sentence, I stopped reading:

When a writer can’t even spell the name of her own feature, I get a little nauseated. Really. And misspelling the title with a random apostrophe is possibly the dumbest mistake a professional writer can make. I could almost overlook the capitalized mom’s, but since it’s there in the same sentence I’m obligated to point it out. It isn’t a proper noun in this context. 

When do you proofread?

Do you proofread your writing before and after you publish it? Clearly, the writers for the Yahoo! front page don’t, because this showed up on yahoo.com:

Being the intrepid sort that I am, I clicked the link to find the true story behind that goofy headline. And here’s the article in its entirety:

I think maybe someone didn’t check the article after publishing it. But I’m just guessin’.