French fries? Oui ou non?

Jumping into the fire from the frying pan, the writers on the Yahoo! front page can’t seem to agree on anything. They can’t agree if french fries needs a capitalized french:

They can’t even agree if they should agree. For those of you interested, and I know one or two of you are, the Associated Press says it’s french fries; the American Heritage Dictionary, French fries.

So, when it comes to fries, it’s a matter of house style. And at my house, the style is with ketchup, hold the vinegar.

After the breakup

After breaking up breakup, the writer misplaces an apostrophe. The ’70s were a decade; 70’s is something that belongs to 70. But, wait! That’s not all! You can learn more about John and Yoko:

John and Yoko were known for being attached at the hip. And they were known for being their casual street style. And this Yahoo! Shine writer is known for being language-impaired.

Is my planet red!

Uh, I mean, is my face red! I was writing about Mars, and I thought it was just a planet that was read. But no, it’s the Red Planet.

Maybe someone at yahoo.com will find out I made a mistake like that! I could get a promotion!

Literally, an embarrassment

So, this woman named Ms. Ross was betrayed by her husband and Kristen Stewart. Not only that, it literally occurred behind her back. All she had to do was turn around, and there they’d be, screwing like rabbits!

Of course, I speak figuratively of the rabbits. They weren’t literally screwing like bunnies. Just as they weren’t literally doing it behind anyone’s literal back.