The most horrible, awful, painful misspelling you’ll see today

This is one of the rare times when I have nothing to say about a mistake on yahoo.com:

fp painfall

Remember Carrie Underwood’s ‘Last Night’?

I thought I was familiar with Carrie Underwood’s biggest hits, but I guess I was wrong. Do you remember “Last Night,” mentioned on the Yahoo! front page?

fp last night

Me neither. That’s because the song in question is “Last Name.” An error on yahoo.com? I’m shocked, shocked I tell you!

That’s not an exception to the rule

In my distant, distant past, when I was in elementary school, I learned a “rule” about spelling: I before E except after C, or when sounded like A as in neighbor and weigh. But it’s hardly a hard-and-fast rule; there are lots of exceptions like peignoir, weird, beige, science, and one of my favorite words, deign.

What are not exceptions to the rule are thief and thieves. Please ignore this misspelling on the home page of Yahoo! Autos:

theives autos