Looking for the U.S. version

I thought I was reading the U.S. version of yahoo.com until I saw this spelling of a Canadian city:

fp montreal

Why would the writer switch from English to the French spelling of Montreal? The English and U.S. spelling is without the acute accent over the E.

Spuds you keep in a handbag?

Are they spuds you keep in a pocketbook? Tater Tots that travel by horse-drawn carriage? What are these “coach potatoes” of which yahoo.com speaks?

fp coach

They’re a typo, that’s what they are. The expression in the U.S. is “couch potatoes,” and it refers to people who spend a lot of time in front of a television.

Someone needs help with Gramin

I’ll be the first to admit it: I need some help with Gramin. But I’m not alone. I think the folks at Yahoo! Travel could use some help with Gramin, too:

gramin travel

I guess that since this is on a travel site and the sentence is about gadgets and guides, the writer probably means Garmin. I think.

It is is, but should be in

I have a lot of empathy for the writer for Yahoo! Music who made this typographical error:

arrived is style

When I’m proofreading my own stuff, I pay extra-close attention to short words like is, it, if, and in. I learned early in my career that those are the words I was most likely to mistype. So now I only mistype really lentghy words.