Nominee for worst word of the day

Every time I make a comment about Yahoo! and its outsourcing of writing to a non-English-speaking country, I think I am being funny and maybe a bit snarky. After reading this, I’m not so sure:

fp nominee

Wouldn’t someone working in the United States know the difference between a nominee and a nomination? Republicans aren’t vying for a nominee because a nominee is a person. It is the person who won the presidential nomination, which is what they are vying for.

Is the stress of writing taking its toll?

Is stress taking its toll on this Yahoo! Makers writer? Does that account for her homophonic error?

tole diy

Tole is “a lacquered or enameled metalware, usually gilded and elaborately painted” like this tole tray:

tole tray

Based on your word choice…

Based on her word choice, I’d say the writer for Yahoo! Style is grammatically challenged:

based off of sty

The first clue was the use of the singular pronoun it to refer to a plural antecedent (images). The correct pronoun is they. The second clue was the expression based off of, which is just wrong. The correct expression is based on.

Meryl Streep rock outs

Meryl Streep did something called “rock outs” according to the Yahoo! Movies:

rock outs mov

Personally, I’d prefer it if Meryl Streep rocks out, but that’s just me.